( If you do not find the information that you
are looking for on this Database FAQ page, please visit the other
database related FAQ pages, from the links above.)
What do I need to access the online databases from home?
Most of our remote access databases are available directly
from our links. Some databases need to be authenticated and
may prompt you for a password or library card. For those databases
that are authenticated via our library catalog you may also
need your telephone number (this number should match the telephone
number in our records).
Will I need a password to access a database?
While most databases need only user authentication, some
databases require a password for remote access. Databases
that are password protected -
CultureGram
Login: pgcmls
Password: pgcmls
Facts for Learning
Login: pratt
Password: facts
Ready Reference Shelf;
Pulications & Broadcast Media Directory
Username islarg70913 Password islarg70913
Washington Post;
Washington Times
Login and Password are the first five numbers on
your library card
I cannot access one of the databases that I used in the
library?
Not all databases are available for home access. Some
databases can only be used inside our library branches.
Which Internet browsers are best for accessing the databases?
We recommend that you use the latest version of either
Netscape or IE. Some databases will not be supported in Netscape
6 because of a number of non-standard features that make it
perform badly with some products. Proprietary browsers like
Compuserve[CS] and America On Line [AOL] are not recommended
browsers for database access.
Are there any specific browser settings needed to access
the databases?
For most databases you will need to configure your browser
to accept cookies and javascript will
have to be enabled.
Will a personal firewall or Antivirus software cause a
problem when accessing a database?
Yes. If you are using a personal firewall or Norton Antivirus
software, there may be some interactivity problems. Turn off
these services when accessing the databases.
I am using the AOL Internet Service and having trouble
accessing the databases?
Even though the AOL services is supported, proprietary
browsers like Compuserve[CS] and America On Line [AOL] are
not recommended browsers for database access. If you are using
the AOL browser, it is recommended that you download, free
of charge, Netscape or Internet Explorer directly from the
manufacturer's web site.
Why are my database bookmarks not working?
Bookmarks, shortcuts and favorites are not recommended
to access databases, results will be unpredictable. Typically,
remote access to databases is offered via a secured host that
authenticates/validates users prior to allowing access. Accessing
a database via a bookmark, that you have created, sidesteps
the authentication process and breaches security.
I cannot see all the text in the database how do I fix
this?
Most databases are optimized for viewing on a screen
with a resolution of 800 x 600 or better. Check your
display settings to make sure that they meet the minimum display
requirements.
Do I need to install any special software on my computer
to use the databases?
Some databases like, ProQuest, provide article page images
in Adobe PDF (Portable Article File) format. To view these
articles, you need Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your
system. If you do not have it, you can download Adobe Acrobat
Reader for free. Download Adobe Acrobat Reader.
What are cookies and how do I enable
cookies?
Cookies are a general mechanism that allows the server
side of a connection and the client side of the connection
(your computer) to maintain information about a particular
session. By using cookies, the database server can keep track
of your pending article retrievals and your display and search
options for the current session.
The steps below will walk you through checking or enabling
cookies on your browser. If you are unsure of the browser
version you're using, please go to Help>About
on your browser menu bar.
Internet Explorer 6.0
Go to Tools
Choose Internet Options
Choose Privacy
Move lever down to Accept All Cookies
Click OK to save
Internet Explorer 5.0 or 5.5 for Windows
Go to Tools
Choose Internet Options
Click Security
Click Custom Level
Scroll down until you see cookies
and change both to enable all cookies
Click apply then OK
Internet Explorer for Macintosh
Go to Edit>Preferences
Click Receiving files>Cookies
Set When Receiving Cookies to Never
Ask or Ask for Each Site
Click OK to save
Netscape 7.0 or higher
Go to Edit
Choose Preferences
Click Privacy & Security
Click Cookies
Click Enable all cookies
Netscape 6.x
Go to Edit
Choose Preferences
Click Advanced
Click Cookies
Click Enable all Cookies
Click OK
Netscape 4.x
Click on Edit
Click on Preferences
Click on Advanced
Choose Accept all cookies
Click OK
The FAQ feature is designed to help
you find answers to some of the commonly asked questions about access
to our databases. For help in using the databases, please visit the help
section on the databases web site. If you need any further assistance
please Contact
Us
Prince
George's County Memorial Library System
Administrative Offices : 6532 Adelphi Road, Hyattsville, MD 20782-2098.
Tel:301-699-3500 TTY:301-808-2061