|
You have selected
a database which is available only in the Library Branches.
Listed below are the Database titles availabe to you from
home
|
Remote Access is available
for these databases. Some of these will require your library card
number if you are accessing this page from outside the Library System.
- Americas
Obituaries and Death Notices (NewsBank)
A collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices. An ideal
resource for genealogical research. Easily searchable by name
of the deceased, date range, or text, such as residence, occupation,
hobbies, family members or other personal information, contained
in the obituary or death notice.
- Associations
Unlimited (Gale)
Contains information for approximately 460,000 international and
U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership
organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c)
nonprofit organizations. (Remote access.)
- Biography
Resource Center (Gale)
This database combines award-winning biographies from respected
Gale Group sources. Biography Resource Center also includes full-text
articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based
on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality,
ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create
a highly-targeted custom search. With the Complete Marquis Who's
Who(R), find quick reference information on an additional 900,000
people. (Remote access.)
- Business
& Company Resource Center (Gale)
A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles,
brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories,
chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed
company and industry news and information. (Remote access.)
- Business
Directory (Reference USA)
Information on over 12 million US businesses. (Remote access.)
- Childrens
Magazine Database - (Searchasaurus)
Use this search tool to find nformation in over 50 magazines,
an encyclopedia of animals, a general encyclopedia, a middle search
plus, and a primary search, also a dictionary, and a picture file,
all written especially for kids. (Remote access.)
- Clinical
Pharmacology (EBSCOhost)
This database provides access up-to-date, concise and clinically-relevant
drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find
herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products
and new and investigational drugs. (Remote access.)
- Company
Research (Mergent)
Detailed financial and narrative information on US and International
Public Companies from the publisher of Moodys Manuals. (Remote
access.)
- Enciclopedia
Estudiantil Hallazgos
Basic Spanish-language encyclopedia for elementary and middle
grades. (Remote access.)
- Encyclopedia
Americana
A general-reference online encyclopedia providing enhanced levels
of access to information in an attractive graphical format. The
new edition is organized around four editorial "modules":
the Americana encyclopedia database proper, the Americana Journal,
Profiles, and Editors' Picks. (Remote access.)
- ERIC
(EBSCOhost)
The Educational Resource Information Center contains more than
2,200 digests along with references for additional information
and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related
journals. (Remote access.)
- Essay
Finder
A unique database of full-text essays and discursive writing.
The essays focus on the humanities and social sciences, and include
biographies and literary criticism. Subjects include literature,
history, economics, sociology, art and architecture, philosophy,
psychology, science and drama. (Remote access.)
- GPO
Access
GPO Access is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office
that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important
information products produced by the Federal Government. Use GPO
Access to search or browse official, full-text information from
the three branches of the Federal Government. Databases are updated
based on their print equivalent and generally date back to 1994.
- Grolier
Online
Access to four encyclopedias (Americana, New Book of Knowledge,
Grolier Multimedia, Lands and Peoples, and Nueva Enciclopedia
Cumbre). (Remote access.)
- Health
and Wellness Resource Center (InfoTrac)
Magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories and
information on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases,
public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug
abuse, prescription drugs, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer,
and health assessment sites as well as government databases. The
material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational
purposes only. (Remote access.)
- Health
Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost)
Search for information on many health topics including the medical
sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine
and general health. Features searchable full text for over 190
journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Mens Health,
as well as abstracts and indexing for over 205 general health,
nutrition and professional health care publications. The material
contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational
purposes only. (Remote access.)
- Health
Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost)
This database provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals
focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features abstracts
and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated
on a daily basis. (Remote access.)
- Heritage
Quest
Heritage Quest. Resources in this genealogy database include family
and local histories; the US Federal Census 1790-1930; the PERiodical
Source Index (PERSItm), covering genealogy and local history periodicals
written in English and French (Canada) since 1800; and the Revolutionary
War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files. Original
page images are provided for all documents.
- History
Resource Center: US (Gale)
Provides integrated access to over 1,000 historical (primary)
documents, more then 30,000 reference articles, and over 65 full-text
journals covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S.
history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also
includes access to the citations for over 180 additional history
journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts
and Humanities Citation Index. (Remote access.)
- History
Resource Center: World (Gale)
Provides integrated access to historical (primary) documents,
reference articles, and journals covering themes, events, individuals
and periods in world history from 3,200 B.C.E. to the present.
Also included are a timeline of the 20th century, maps, images,
and a research guide for students. (Remote access available.)
- Lands
and Peoples (Grolier)
Encyclopedia of Countries, Cultures and Geography for middle and
high school students. Includes web links, article links, photographs,
maps, flags, facts and figures, etc. (Remote access.) LearnATest
Practice online for the ACT, SAT, GED, ASVAB, Firefighter, Police
Officer, Paramedic, EMT Basic, US Citizenship, Postal Worker,
and more! (Remote access.)
- LearnATest
Practice online for the ACT, SAT, GED, ASVAB, Firefighter, Police
Officer, Paramedic, EMT Basic, US Citizenship, Postal Worker,
and more! (Remote access.)
- Literature
Resource Center (Gale)
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies,
and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online
service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000
novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with
in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. (Remote
access.)
- Magazine
Index (EbscoHost)
Provides abstracts and /or full text articles from nearly 2,000
periodicals Choose from MasterFile Premier, a multidisciplinary
database, Business Source Elite, Health Source - Consumer Edition,
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition, Newspaper Source, Funk
& Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Middle Search Plus, Primary
Search, EBSCO Animals, ERIC, and Clinical Pharmacology. (Remote
access.)
- Magazine
Index (InfoTrac)
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources
in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center to
find articles from magazines, reference books, and newspapers,
many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events,
popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more,
from 1980. (Remote access.)
- New
Book of Knowledge
Reference and current events for grades 3 and up. (Remote access.)
- Novelist
A readers advisory service that helps readers find fiction
books based on titles or authors they have read or topics in which
they are interested. (Remote access.)
- Nueva
Enciclopedia Cumbre en linea
The complete Spanish-language encyclopedia. (Remote access.)
- Opposing
Viewpoints Resource Center
Information on social issues with viewpoint articles, topic overviews,
statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text
magazine and newspaper articles. (Remote access.)
- Poem
Finder
Thousands of full-text poems plus explanations, biographies and
pictures. (Remote access.)
- Publications
and Broadcast Media Directory (Gale)
Directory of television stations, radio stations, or a cable television
companies. Geographic coverage extends to the United States and
Canada. (Remote access.)
- Ready
Reference Shelf (Gale)
Access to more than 320,000 entries for associations, research
centers, publishers, publications (ranging from newspapers and
newsletters to periodicals and directories), databases, television
and radio stations and more. Includes Encyclopedia of Associations,
Gale Directory of Publications & Broadcast Media, Newsletters
in Print, Publishers Directory, Directories in Print, Gale Directory
of Databases, Gale Guide to Internet Databases, Research, Government
and International Research Centers Directories, Directory of Special
Libraries and Information Centers, Encyclopedia of Governmental
Advisory of Organizations, Encyclopedia of American Religions.
(Remote access.)
- Searchasaurus
- (Childrens Magazine Database)
Use this search tool to find nformation in over 50 magazines,
an encyclopedia of animals, a general encyclopedia, a middle search
plus, and a primary search, also a dictionary, and a picture file,
all written especially for kids. (Remote access.)
- Story
Finder
Thousands of full-text short stories plus explanations, biographies
and pictures. (Remote access.)
- Telephone
Directory Health Care (Reference USA)
A searchable directory of over 650,000 physicians and dentists
in the United States. (Remote access.)
-
Telephone Directory Residential (Reference USA)
Data from the most recent US census for over 120,000,000 residences
in the United States. Each US residential listing also contains
information from the most recent US census, including median household
income, median home value, latitude/longitude and percentage of
owner-occupied housing. (Remote access.)
- The
Washington Post
Coverage begins with 1977. LOGIN AND PASSWORD are the first five
numbers on your library card. There is a lag time of generally
one day. This database does not include classifieds, legal notices,
graphics, and articles not c opyright to the newspaper. (Remote
access.)
- Washington
Times
Coverage begins with 1990. There is a lag time of generally 48
hours. This database does not include classifieds, legal notices,
graphics, and articles not copyright to the newspaper. (Remote
access.)
- World
Book Encyclopedia Online
World Book Encyclopedia, Dictionary and Atlas with articles from
earlier World Book editions. (Remote access.)
|